Online backup and online storage software that archives your files in real-time

Memopal Cloud Storage

Subscribe to Memopal Cloud Storage: eMailAlertsEmail Alerts newslettersWeekly Newsletters
Get Memopal Cloud Storage: homepageHomepage mobileMobile rssRSS facebookFacebook twitterTwitter linkedinLinkedIn


Memopal Authors: Keith Mayer, Shelly Palmer, PR.com Newswire, Greg Schulz, Kevin Remde

Related Topics: Cloud Computing, Memopal, Cloud Hosting & Service Providers Journal, Cloud Backup and Recovery Journal

Blog Feed Post

CloudBerry Backup - Purging Options Explained

CloudBerry S3 Backup is a powerful Windows backup and restore that automate backup and restore processes to Amazon S3 cloud stor

Note: this post applies to CloudBerry Backup 1.3 and later.

CloudBerry S3 Backup is a powerful Windows backup and restore that automate backup and restore processes to Amazon S3 cloud storage. In this post we will try to explain you how to configure purging options and why you need them.

CloudBerry Backup creates a version of the file on backup storage each time the file is modified. Using purging options you basically configure how many versions to keep. This helps you keep the number of versions to the necessary minimum and cut down on storage requirements.

If you want to see the versions of a particular file simply go to the Backup Storage tab. Make sure that you click All Versions button on the toolbar. This will show the panel at the bottom and you will be able to restore a specific version of the file from there.

image001

To configure default Purging Options go the main menu Tools | Options and click on the Purging tab. The options are

1. Purge versions older than. It will delete all versions from the backup storage older than specified time interval that you configure

2. Keep number of version. This is absolute number of the most recent file version to keep.

image003

CloudBerry Backup will always keep one version (the last version) of the file regardless of how purging options are configured. Furthermore, even if you delete a file on your computer it will still stay on your backup storage.
We will add an option that will delete file on online storage when you delete it locally in the future release.

Note: you can overwrite purging options when configuring Backup Plans

The other two options control the History which is used mostly for troubleshooting and doesn't add-up to storage requirements. You can look at the history records at the backup tab as shown on the screen below. In most of the cases you should leave default values. Again you can delete the records older then a give time interval or you can select how many records to keep.

Note, the history is stored on your local computer, not on the online storage and it doesn't consume much disk space. Anyways, don't worry too much about the History.

image005

If you came to this post by chance you should know that CloudBerry Backup is a Windows program that leverages Amazon S3 storage. you can learn more about it at http://cloudberrydrive.com/

Read the original blog entry...

More Stories By Alexandra Brown

Marketing Manager at CloudBerry Lab, the company that specialize on tool that makes Cloud Computing adoption easier. CloudBerry Lab is established in 2008 by a group of experienced IT professionals with the mission to help organization in adopting Cloud computing technologies by closing the gap between Cloud vendors propositions and consumer needs through development of innovative low costs solutions.